themadmermaid: (Default)
[personal profile] themadmermaid
I let myself get behind on my coursework, and with lots to do at work I have been running like a rat in a wheel all last week and this week so far.
I start rambling forever so I'm going to cut this.


Last weekend, my sister and her boyfriend and two of our friends came out to celebrate my birthday Saturday. It was very nice, but all Friday evening and the whole day Saturday and part of Sunday morning were consumed, and all the socialization made me tired. We went out to a local coffee shop, ate dinner at an Italian place, and then came back to the house to hang out. My sister gave me a six pack of PBR with screencaps of the Patrick Swayze commercial on them. The other thing is that my friend (really more of my sister's friend but I like her too) has this husband that's just... I don't even know. He's just really awkward and he make everyone uncomfortable. He's just a dork and it's like he's never "getting" the conversation on the same level as anyone else. I don't really know why she married him. My sister thinks she was getting desperate, but I hope that she just really likes him even though he appears to be annoying as hell.

Then Sunday after everyone was gone, I spent literally hours trying to get The Sims 3 and all my expansions packs re-installed on my computer, with custom content (that actually worked). Our C drive is very small and so it needed to be installed on E. Only when that happened, it won't automatically look for custom content and you have to use this old work around where you manually place certain files in certain folders.... only I didn't realize you had to do that all after you installed every EP so after I had already installed and uninstalled everything on C, then installed the main game on E, then fucked with it for like hours to do the files, then I had to uninstall that and start over again. Good times! By the time it was done I was tired and it ended up the computer isn't running it well. We had to reformat it and remove some corrupted memory, but with less memory the game is choppy.

Then this week, which has been full of annoying people, happened. I'm just tired of people who don't do their job. I am going to have to have a come to jesus meeting with about half my department where I say, "Hey, if I tell you to schedule a fucking meeting, please do it. And if I tell you to have paperwork done in a certain way by a certain time, fucking do it! Also, stop complaining about things that you should be proactive about." Only maybe I will be a little nicer.

On the other hand, it's not like I don't have a reputation for being kind of a bitch, so you'd think people would be frightened of me and do what I say. I don't really think I am, but I don't like to pussyfoot around. I went into education because I like teaching kids with disabilities, not because I like whiny women. If you are doing something wrong, I don't have a problem telling you that. Not to be mean, but because it's the truth.

Ok, I spent the evening agonizing over the world's stupidest midterm exam before finally frantically cranking out a bare page and half and turning it in.... so it's like two hours past my bedtime and I'm here typing the story of my life on Dreamwidth. I will regret this in the morning, so I should go to sleep now. Also, I don't have my glasses on since I'm laying in bed so if this is riddled with typos, sorry. I see ok enough to mostly read but the small details are lost, unless I close my really bad eye and look with my almost good eye, but then I feel kind of ill. (The last time I went to a new eye doctor, he was inordinately excited that my eyes are like that.)

Profile

themadmermaid: (Default)
themadmermaid

August 2012

S M T W T F S
   1 234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26 272829 3031 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 10:11 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios